European Film Music Prizes to Martin Batchelar (UK), Jens Heuler und Dominik Campus (Germany)

A highlight of SoundTrack_Cologne 7.0, the Cologne Congress for Music and Sound in Film and Media, was the prize-giving ceremony on Saturday. 27th of November 2010. There were prizes for melodious TV music, for Rising Stars, and one for a legend: Christian Bruhn was, for his life's work, awarded the SoundTrack_Cologne Special Prize, which was presented by festival director Michael P. Aust.

In the context of the competition of SoundTrack_Cologne, the European Film Music Prize European Talent Award was awarded for the seventh time. The European Film Music Prize in the category FILMSCORE went to Martin Batchelar, London. This year the sound design prize was not awarded. Instead the jury decided to award a price to the best collaborating team of composer and sounddesigner: Jens Heuler and Dominik Campus. The jury found particular pleasure in watching the silent movie theme. The special mention goes to Artur Onyszczak for the originality of his work.

The prizes were presented by Oscar-winnerJan A.P. Kaczmarek. The European Talent Award is sponsored by Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR), SoundVision GmbH and Universal Publishing Production Music.

Quote from the jury's statement

The prize for the best FILMSCORE goes to Martin Batchelar, UK:

"The jury decided to give the prize to Martin Batchelar for exceptional craft, which expecially includes orchestration, best placement of cues and memorable themes."

This year 80 scores were composed for the short film DER SCHROTTMANN, directed by Fabian Driehorst, Cologne. The composers are from 13 countries – even from the USA, Russia amd Israel. The twelve best entries were selected for the final public screening at the Kölnischer Kunstverein on 27th of November. "Twelve soundtracks, one film. With each new soundtrack the film tells another plot and reminiscents a new spectrum of emotional colors. And each nominated composer/sound designer of the European Talent Competition proved this year that he is capable of telling and accomplishing a story acoustical," said Matthias Kapohl, director of the European Talent Competition 2010.

Members of the jury were: Jan A.P. Kaczmarek (President); Dr. Michael Breugst, WDR; Fabian Driehorst, director; Dagmar Niehage, Producer Dagstar Film; Lothar Segeler, SoundVision.

Peer Raben Music Award goes to Jewgeni Birkhoff, Cologne

For the second time the Peer Raben Music Award for the best music to a short film was awarded in the competition of SoundTrack_Cologne 7.0. Awarded was a film score where the relationship between the narration and the music and sound is innovative and dramaturgically clear. The score of the composer Jewgeni Birkhoff for the film NOW NOW NOW (JETZT IST WICHTIG) satisfied the criteria of the jury.

Members of the jury were: Florian Mischa Böder, Roswitha Esther und Florian Moser. The winner of the Peer Raben Music Award wins 1.500 euros.

To quote the jury's statement: "Jewgeni Birkhoff's composition leads through the film and manages to integrate all other parts of narration and sound design. It works both on an

intellectual and emotional level and creates a piece of art that is more then the sum of its parts. Peer Raben would have loved it."

The winners of the **Deutscher Fernsehmusikpreis 2010** are: "Tatort: Weil sie böse sind", composition Fabian Römer in the category BEST MUSIC for a TV feature; "Im Angesicht des Verbrechens", composition Sven Rossenbach & Florian van Volxem in the category BEST MUSIC for a series and "Henners Traum – Das größte Tourismusprojekt Europas", composition Michael Kadelbach in the category BEST MUSIC for a documentary.

SoundTrack_Cologne 6.0 is sponsored by Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW, Stadt Köln, FFA, Filmstiftung NRW, RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur.

Supported by: Landesmusikrat NRW, WDR Rundfunkorchester Köln, WDR mediagroup licensing GmbH, WDR Radio, SoundVision GmbH, Universal Publishing Production Music, SKODA Auto Deutschland, mediamusic e.V. Berufsverband Medienmusik, HK Audio, Kölnischer Kunstverein, Gloria Theater, Polnisches Institut Düsseldorf, Hilton Hotel, haschemi® edition cologne – management & consulting, Hotel Chelsea, CC Composers Club, ECSA – European Composer and Songwriter Alliance, FFACE – Federation of Film & Audiovisual Composers of Europe, WIFT – Women in Film and Television, VUT – Verband unabhängiger Musikunternehmen e.V., Dolby, Aloha Lemonade

Media partners: cinema musica, Musikwoche, film-dienst, intro, StadtRevue, Sound&Recording

The programme SEE THE SOUND of SoundTrack_Cologne is sponsored by ON - Neue Musik Köln, Stadt Köln und SK Stiftung Kultur and supported by Rapid Eye Movies, c/o pop & C'n'B und Bastei Lübbe.

ON - Neue Musik Köln is sponsored by Netzwerk Neue Musik, Stadt Köln and RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur.

The DVSM symposium is supported by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, and DVSM – Dachverband der Studierenden der Musikwissenschaft e.V. and mediamusic e.V. Berufsverband Medienmusik.

Festival & congress center: Kölnischer Kunstverein, Hahnenstraße 6, 50667 Köln. U-Bahn: Neumarkt or Rudolfplatz

Contact SoundTrack_Cologne TELEVISOR TROIKA GmbH Trajanstr. 27, 50678 Köln fon +49 221 931844 0 fax +49 221 931844 9 info@soundtrackcologne.de www.soundtrackcologne.de

Organized by: TELEVISOR TROIKA GmbH Trajanstr. 27 | 50678 Köln | HRB 27204 AG Köln Geschäftsführer: Dipl.-Kfm. Michael P. Aust www.televisor.de